Saturday 26 September 2020, 04:22 GMT
  
                                 


Home   :   Schedule   :   Chatroom   :   Presenters   :   Programmes   :   Phoenix events   :   Local events   :   History   :   Links   :   Advertise   :   Contact
  














CB April 1st 2009 (April Fools Day Special featuring The Kazoo Funk Orchestra)

So, how were we going to celebrate April Fools Day then? How about 2 hours of music you’d never see coming – yup, time for a Curveballs Turbo special! Scandinavian metal, Japanese pop, comedy, mash-ups, Deftones covering Sade… it was all here. Despite all this though, something was missing. A focal point was needed…

 

 

…Step forward the Kazoo Funk Orchestra. Having featured a weekly “Kazoo Funk Orchestra moment” on the show for the past year, it was a delight to have Mechanical (left) and Little Beard from the band on the phone to give us an insight into the band’s mysterious little world (mostly made up of strange stories and animal noises!).

 

To hear the interview click here:

Talking about the background of the band…with an occasional distraction

Talking about the track Baby You’ve No Eyes, a band favourite… with a few stories!

 

You can hear more of the band’s music at www.kazoofunkorchestra.com and www.myspace.com/bigbeardlittlebeard.

 

Weird Al Yankovic – You’re Pitiful www.weirdal.com

Gore – National Anthem of Goruguay www.myspace.com/goruguay

The 7-10 Split – I Love Your Mum www.myspace.com/710split

Manu Chao – Me Gustas Tù www.manuchao.net

Diffusion – Weakest Link http://members.fortunecity.com/theweakestlink 

Regurgitate – Effortless Regurgitation… www.regurgitate.net

The Freelance Hairdresser - Knees Up Look Sharp (Chas ‘n’ Dave vs. Dizzee Rascal) www.myspace.com/thefreelancehairdresser

Ikimono Gakari – Hanabi www.ikimonogakari.com

Tenacious D – I’m The Only Gay Eskimo www.tenaciousd.com

Deftones – No Ordinary Love www.deftones.com

Bing Crosby – Swinging on a Star www.bingcrosby.com

Greg(o)rian – War on the Sky www.myspace.com/gregoriandoom

The Kazoo Funk Orchestra – Fictional www.kazoofunkorchestra.com

The Kazoo Funk Orchestra – Baby You’ve No Eyes www.myspace.com/bigbeardlittlebeard

Credit To The Nation – Call It What You Want http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Credit_to_the_Nation

Ludovico Einaudi – Eden Roc www.einaudi.com

Incestuous Youth – Smave Bave www.myspace.com/incestuousyouth

The Freelance Hairdresser - You Suffer at the Gay Bar (Electric Six vs. Naplam Death) www.myspace.com/thefreelancehairdresser

Voicedude – Stand by Me Forever (Ben E. King vs. The Clash) http://voicedude.podomatic.com

Weird Al Yankovic – Jerry Springer www.myspace.com/weirdal

Bortsch Orkestra – Bortsch Enie Goulasch www.myspace.com/bortschorkestra

Nat King Cole – I’m Gonna Sit Right Down & Write Myself a Letter www.nat-king-cole.org

Liquorstore – ZX81 www.myspace.com/liquorstoreband

May Contain Nuts – Something Ghetto www.myspace.com/maycontainnutsrock 

Groove Collective – Everybody (We the People) www.groovecollective.com

Tep – Calak www.myspace.com/nicotep

Cannibal Corpse – Dormant Bodies Bursting www.cannibalcorpse.net

Stephen Lynch – Superhero www.stephenlynch.com

Tolivar – Lights & Lights & Lights & Lights www.myspace.com/tolivar

Gore - Be My Speed Bump www.myspace.com/goruguay

Killed By Krueger – You Say it Best (When You Say Nothing At All) www.myspace.com/killedbykrueger



Written by
Posted in




To find out what's coming up and what you've missed join the Phoenix FM mailing list.


Comments

Add a comment

Your name:
Your town:
Your email:

Anti spam question: what is two plus two? Write the number, not the word:

Message:


 
Please keep your comments legal, honest, decent!
IP addresses are recorded and any abuse will be dealt with accordingly!
Click here to listen
Click here to watch the webcam and join the chatroom

Now playing:
n o w   o n   a i r

0000
n e x t   o n   a i r

0700 Steve Robertson
s o m e   a d s


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function split() in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/phpweather.inc:670 Stack trace: #0 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/rightbar.inc(77): process_metar('') #1 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/includes/pagebottom.inc(13): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #2 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/story/2692.php(22): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #3 {main} thrown in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/phpweather.inc on line 670