Saturday 26 September 2020, 03:15 GMT
  
                                 


Home   :   Schedule   :   Chatroom   :   Presenters   :   Programmes   :   Phoenix events   :   Local events   :   History   :   Links   :   Advertise   :   Contact
  














CB August 19th 2009 (3-hour special featuring The Cavorters, Domino Bones and BEZ!)

So this week we had an extra hour of Curveballs, how on earth were we going to fill 3 hours then? In a better way than we could have hoped, that’s for sure! Read on…

 

 

First up I spoke to Dan (second left) from The Cavorters on the phone. The Cavorters hail from Darlaston in the Midlands, and will be releasing their debut single Puppet No More through Metropolis Records on August 31st (although it’s available from Itunes right now too!). Describing their main influence as ‘Rude boi rock’, the band can be seen at Worlds End in Finsbury Park this Saturday (22nd), with more dates in the pipeline – find out more at www.myspace.com/thecavorters.

 

Click here to listen to the interview

 

 

 

 

Next up down the line were Domino Bones, to whom we chatted ahead of their appearance at Steeple Bay Festival near Chelmsford on August 30th. Hailing from Manchester, they certainly have lots of good experience musically, with members who’ve played in the Stone Roses, Black Grape and, most famously, Happy Mondays – in fact you might recognise one of them straight away, it’s Bez! Bez is also appearing at the V festival this weekend with the Happy Mondays before heading out for dates around the UK with Domino Bones – check dates at www.myspace.com/dominobones.

 

Click here to listen to the interview

 

They’ll be supported on these dates by our good buddies Law Abiding Citizens, and a big shout out goes to Mike from the band for helping sort out tonight!

 

The Magnets – 3 is the Magic Number www.themagnets.com

Dartz! – Once, Twice, Again! www.myspace.com/darts

[spunge] – Kicking Pigeons www.spunge.co.uk 

Loz Jones – Idiot Room www.lozjones.com

Los Salvadores – Empty Boxes www.myspace.com/lossalvadores

4ft Fingers – Save Your Soul Tonight www.4ftfingers.com

The Tibetan Tea Company – Heaven Only Knows www.tibetanteacompany.co.uk

The Trends – The Boys at Number 10 www.myspace.com/cheltenhamtrends

Stapleton – Tonight We Will Carry Him Home www.myspace.com/stapleton

The Cavorters – Puppet No More www.myspace.com/thecavorters

The Unknownn – Backseat www.myspace.com/theunknownn

The Crazy Eights – Jack & Jill www.myspace.com/crazyeightsuk

Burning Heads – Synaptic Warfare www.burningheads.com

Pro Rata - Sirens www.myspace.com/prorataonline 

The Circus Electric – Who Wants to Know www.myspace.com/thecircuselectric

Language – Techno www.myspace.com/languageuk

Red Threads – Hey Nicky www.myspace.com/redthreadsmusic

The Secret Mission – I Hate Reality TV www.secretmissionmusic.com

Strangeways – Clear Out the Intake www.myspace.com/ilovestrangeways

Happy Mondays – Kinky Afro www.happymondaysonline.com

Wolf Am I – Lex Talonis www.myspace.com/wolfami

Law Abiding Citizens – Where Are You Now www.myspace.com/laclondon

Cabaret Rat – Cattle Ranch www.cabaretrat.com

The Tibetan Tea Company – Mr Cox’s Daughter www.myspace.com/tibetanteacompany

Magazine – Shot By Both Sides www.myspace.com/magazineofficial

 

CURVEBALLS TURBO

Party Ben – Boulevard of Broken Songs (Green Day v Oasis v Travis v Eminem/Aerosmith) www.partyben.com

Seven Thorns – Forest Majesty www.myspace.com/seventhorns

Ikimono Gakari – Blue Bird www.ikimonogakari.com

Greg(o)rian – War on the Sky (excerpt) www.myspace.com/gregoriandoom

Ludovico Einaudi – La Profondita www.ludovicoeinaudi.com

Stephen Lynch – If I Were Gay www.stephenlynch.com

 

Defend Moscow – Die Tonight www.myspace.com/defendmoscow

Aristocrats – Alone (Phoenix FM Session) www.myspace.com/aristocratsband

Tolivar – Shilo www.tolivar.com

The Kazoo Funk Orchestra – Somewhere a Dog Barked www.kazoofunkorchestra.com



Written by
Posted in




To find out what's coming up and what you've missed join the Phoenix FM mailing list.


Comments

Add a comment

Your name:
Your town:
Your email:

Anti spam question: what is two plus two? Write the number, not the word:

Message:


 
Please keep your comments legal, honest, decent!
IP addresses are recorded and any abuse will be dealt with accordingly!
Click here to listen
Click here to watch the webcam and join the chatroom

Now playing:
n o w   o n   a i r

0000
n e x t   o n   a i r

0700 Steve Robertson
s o m e   a d s


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function split() in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/phpweather.inc:670 Stack trace: #0 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/rightbar.inc(77): process_metar('') #1 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/includes/pagebottom.inc(13): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #2 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/story/3049.php(22): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #3 {main} thrown in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/phpweather.inc on line 670