Wednesday 23 September 2020, 09:19 GMT
  
                                 


Home   :   Schedule   :   Chatroom   :   Presenters   :   Programmes   :   Phoenix events   :   Local events   :   History   :   Links   :   Advertise   :   Contact
  














CB October 13th 2010 - the show nobody saw coming, and was all the more fun for it

So there I was, sat in the studio, with my guest band for the night having had to pull out at the last minute. Then out of the blue, some familiar faces to Curveballs knocked at the window, saying hi as they were passing through town. Having told them about my predicament, one of them suddenly remembered they had a guitar in their car boot. Cue one collective bright idea…

 

 

 

…So tonight I was joined in the studio by Andy from 3rd Rock Revolution, Elv from last week’s guests The Filthy Vibe, and Tom who does a good job of simply being Tom, and together we knocked out the first ever mostly-live Curveballs Turbo feature. You can hear some of the results below.

 

New Coat of Paint (Tom Waits cover)

Sideboard Song (Chas & Dave cover)

Ring of Fire (Johnny Cash cover)

You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away (Beatles cover)

Just when you thought it couldn’t get any more random…

 

Huge thanks to Andy, Elv and Tom of “Filthy Revolution” for a top night’s entertainment.

 

The Bluetones – Bluetonic www.thebluetones.info

The Gentlemen – Digging Deep www.the-gentlemen.co.uk

The Foxes – Bill Hicks www.thefoxesband.co.uk

Minus the Bear – My Time www.minusthebear.com

Manda – Waves of Love

Stapleton – Tonight We Will Carry Him Home www.myspace.com/stapleton

Stealing Signs – So www.myspace.com/stealingsigns

Los Salvadores – Bartholomew’s Day www.lossalvadores.co.uk

“Filthy Revolution” - New Coat of Paint (Tom Waits cover)

“Filthy Revolution” - I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor (Arctic Monkeys cover)

 

CURVEBALLS TURBO LIVE

“Filthy Revolution” - Theme from Postman Pat

Antique Seeking Nuns – Keeny Woka Phoola www.myspace.com/antiqueseekingnuns

“Filthy Revolution” – Rock & Roll All Nite (KISS cover)

Unnatural Selection – Desolation www.myspace.com/unnaturalselectionband

Jimi Hendrix – Easy Rider www.jimihendrix.com

“Filthy Revolution” – Sideboard Song (Chas & Dave cover)

Philip Glass - Violin Concerto Part 1 www.philipglass.com

“Filthy Revolution” – Ring of Fire (Johnny Cash cover)

Predicting the Fall – Shut Up & Drive www.predictingthefall.com

“Filthy Revolution” – You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away (Beatles cover)

Benumb – Once & Never Again http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benümb

“Filthy Revolution” – Theme from Home & Away

Gaggle – I Hear Flies www.myspace.com/gagglespace

Advert breaks courtesy of The Blog: www.olddolly.co.uk/theblog

 

Eaststrikewest – Rosa www.myspace.com/eaststrikewestband

Krystal Vayne – Concrete Feelings www.myspace.com/krystalvayne

Sans Wilfred – Creature in Me www.myspace.com/sanswilfred

False-Heads – Power www.myspace.com/falseheads

JD Smith – Three Wishes www.myspace.com/stuartjamesdurdensmith

Counting Daisies – Counting Daisies www.myspace.com/countingdaisies

 

 

 

“Filthy Revolution” (l-r): Tom Silk, ‘Elv’ Cohen, Andy West.

 

www.myspace.com/3rdrockrevolution

 

 

 



Written by
Posted in




To find out what's coming up and what you've missed join the Phoenix FM mailing list.


Comments

Add a comment

Your name:
Your town:
Your email:

Anti spam question: what is two plus two? Write the number, not the word:

Message:


 
Please keep your comments legal, honest, decent!
IP addresses are recorded and any abuse will be dealt with accordingly!
Click here to listen
Click here to watch the webcam and join the chatroom

Now playing:
n o w   o n   a i r

0700 Mike Porter
In association with Hutton View Care Home
n e x t   o n   a i r

1000 Ben Simmons
In association with Brentwood Care Centre
s o m e   a d s


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function split() in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/phpweather.inc:670 Stack trace: #0 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/rightbar.inc(77): process_metar('') #1 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/includes/pagebottom.inc(13): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #2 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/story/4256.php(22): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #3 {main} thrown in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/phpweather.inc on line 670