Friday 18 September 2020, 13:46 GMT

Home   :   Schedule   :   Chatroom   :   Presenters   :   Programmes   :   Phoenix events   :   Local events   :   History   :   Links   :   Advertise   :   Contact

The Promise

It was great to finally get my hands on the new album 'The Promise' by Bruce Springsteen. It features a bunch of previously unreleased songs from the recording of 'The Darkness On The Edge Of Town' & it was great to play a couple of songs from it, including a different version of Racing In The Street.

Here's the playlist for 21st November 2010 (albums in brackets)
1st Hour
1.  Dinosaur Jr. - Nothin' Goin On                               (Hand It Over)
2.  David Bowie - Let's Spend The Night Together        (Aladdin Sane)
3.  Auf Der Mar - Followed The Waves                        (Auf Der Mar)
4.  Red Hot Chili Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magic     (Blood Sugar Sex Magic)
5.  Bruce Springsteen - Racing In The Street               (The Promise)
6.  Bruce Springsteen - The Promise                          (The Promise)
7.  Public Image Limited - Home                                (Album)
8.  Rush - How It Is                                                   (Vapor Trails)
9.  The Flaming Lips - It's Summertime                      (Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots)
10. John Grant - It's Easier                                        (Queen Of Denmark)

2nd Hour
1.  Tristan - No Guarantees                                       (Chemisphere)
2.  Public Enemy - Welcome To The Terrordome        (Fear Of A Black Planet)
3.  Sonic Youth - Eric's Trip                                      (Daydream Nation)
4.  Grandaddy - 2A.M.                                              (Under The Western Freeway)
5.  Otis Redding - Happy Song                                   (The Immortal Otis Redding)
6.  Terence Trent D'Arby                                            (Introducing The Hardline According To Terence Trent D'Arby)
7.  The The - Perfect                                                 (Soul Mining)
8.  Fleetwood Mac - Silver Spring                               (Rumours)
9.  Loudon Wainwright III - Your Mother & I                 (More Love Songs)
10. Nicole Atkins - Vultures                                       (Mondo Amore)
11. Pink Floyd - Comfortably Numb                            (The Wall)

Written by
Posted in

To find out what's coming up and what you've missed join the Phoenix FM mailing list.


Add a comment

Your name:
Your town:
Your email:

Anti spam question: what is two plus two? Write the number, not the word:


Please keep your comments legal, honest, decent!
IP addresses are recorded and any abuse will be dealt with accordingly!
Click here to listen
Click here to watch the webcam and join the chatroom

Now playing:
n o w   o n   a i r

1300 Stewart Pink
n e x t   o n   a i r

1500 Ian Leigh
In association with Saint Francis Hospice
s o m e   a d s

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function split() in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/ Stack trace: #0 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/ process_metar('') #1 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/includes/ include('/homepages/4/d1...') #2 /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/story/4368.php(22): include('/homepages/4/d1...') #3 {main} thrown in /homepages/4/d121083613/htdocs/phoenix98fm/ on line 670